

U.S. NUCLEAR WASTE TECHNICAL REVIEW BOARD

THE BOARD'S MISSION

The mission of the Board is to provide independent expert evaluation of the technical and scientific validity of U.S. Department of Energy activities related to the packaging, storage, transport, and disposal of spent nuclear fuel and high-level radioactive waste.

ABOUT THE BOARD

The U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board is an independent agency in the executive branch of the federal government. The Board is comprised of eminent scientists and engineers nominated by the National Academy of Sciences and appointed by the President. It is supported by highly qualified professional staff.

The Board was established in the Nuclear Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1987 (NWPAA) to "...evaluate the technical and scientific validity of activities [related to managing and disposing of spent nuclear fuel and high-level radioactive waste] undertaken by the Secretary [of Energy], including

- (1) site characterization activities; and
- (2) activities relating to the packaging or transportation of high-level radioactive waste or spent nuclear fuel."

According to the legislative history of the NWPAA, "the purpose of the Board is to provide a source of independent expert advice to DOE and the Congress on technical issues and to review DOE's efforts to implement the nuclear waste program." In order to provide timely feedback, the Board is expected to "review DOE's activities as they occur, rather than after the fact." As the Administration and Congress decide on a path forward for the disposition of nuclear waste, DOE continues to have responsibility under the Nuclear Waste Policy Act for managing and disposing of nuclear waste, and the Board's statutory responsibility for evaluating DOE's implementation of those activities remains unchanged. By performing unbiased and ongoing technical and scientific peer review of DOE's nuclear waste management activities, the Board makes an essential contribution to increasing confidence in the scientific process and to informing, from a technical and scientific perspective, decisions on the nuclear waste program. The Board reports its findings, conclusions, and recommendations to the Secretary of Energy and the Congress.

Reports and Factsheets

The Board issues reports and factsheets intended to communicate the results of the Board's evaluation of DOE activities and to provide useful technical information to the public and decision-makers in Congress and the Administration.

Recent Publication

Proceedings of the Board's 2023 International Workshop on Siting of Radioactive Waste Facilities

September 2024

All Board reports, factsheets, correspondence, testimony, and meeting materials are available on the Board's website at www.nwtrb.gov.

To be added to the Board's mailing list, please forward your contact information via the Board's website or by mail to U.S. NWTRB, 2300 Clarendon Blvd, Ste. 1300, Arlington, VA 22201.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD

The Board is composed of 11 members who serve on a part-time basis. Board members are appointed by the President from a list of candidates submitted by the National Academy of Sciences. By law, nominees to the Board are selected solely on the bases of distinguished professional service and eminence in a field of science or engineering. The names and affiliations of the Board members are listed below.



PETER SWIFT, PH.D., CHAIR is a consulting geoscientist in Albuquerque, New Mexico.



RICHELLE ALLEN-KING, Ph.D., is a professor in the Department of Geology, College of Arts and Sciences, University of Buffalo, New York, in Buffalo, New York.



NATHAN SIU, Ph.D., is an independent nuclear risk assessment consultant.



RONALD G. BALLINGER, Sc.D., is Professor Emeritus of Nuclear Science and Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, Massachusetts.



SETH TULER, Ph.D., is an associate professor in the Department of Integrative and Global Studies, at Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Worcester, Massachusetts.



LAKE BARRETT is a consultant in the energy field in Venice, Florida.



SCOTT W. TYLER, Ph.D., is Professor Emeritus of Geological Sciences and Engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno, in Reno, Nevada.



MILES GREINER, PH.D., is Foundation Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno, in Reno, Nevada.



BRIAN WOODS, PH.D., is Professor of Nuclear Engineering at Oregon State University in Corvallis, Oregon.



SILVIA JURISSON, PH.D., is Professor Emerita of Chemistry and Radiology at the University of Missouri, in Columbia, Missouri.