

January 21, 1997 For Immediate Release Frank Randall External Affairs

President Clinton Appoints New NWTRB Members

President Bill Clinton announced January 17 his intention to appoint six new members to the Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board. At the same time, the President announced his intention to appoint Jared L. Cohon, a current member of the Board, as the new chair.

Dr. Cohon, dean of the School of Forestry and Environmental Studies at Yale University, was appointed to the Board June 29, 1995, by the President. Dr. Cohon is an authority on environmental systems and hydrology, and earned his B.S. in civil engineering from the University of Pennsylvania and his M.S. and Ph.D. in civil engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He lives in Connecticut.

Daniel B. Bullen, associate professor of nuclear engineering and director of UTR-10 Nuclear Reactor Laboratory at Iowa State University, earned his B.S. in engineering science from Iowa State University and his Ph.D. in nuclear engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Bullen is a registered professional engineer and previously worked with the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. He currently lives in Iowa.

Florie A. Caporuscio is the senior geochemist with Informatics Corporation at their Albuquerque, New Mexico, office. He earned his B.S. in geology from the University of Massachusetts, his M.S. in geology from Arizona State University, and his Ph.D. in geology from the University of Colorado. Dr. Caporuscio has more than ten years' experience in highlevel and transuranic radioactive waste disposal and has served as section chief of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Waste Isolation Pilot Project (WIPP) Technical Review Program. He lives in New Mexico.

Norman L. Christensen, Jr., professor and dean of the School of the Environment at Duke University, has more than 24 years' teaching experience and brings special expertise in ecosystem management to the Board. Dr. Christensen earned his A.B. and M.A. degrees in biology from Fresno State College and his Ph.D. in biology from the University of California-Santa Barbara. He has served on the boards of numerous environmental and conservation organizations. Dr. Christensen currently lives in North Carolina. Debra S. Knopman, director of the Progressive Foundation's Center for Innovation and the Environment, also serves as a member of the National Academy of Sciences' Commission on Geosciences, Environment, and Resources. Dr. Knopman earned her B.A. in chemistry from Wellesley College, her M.S. in civil engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and her Ph.D. in hydrology, operations research, and applied statistics from Johns Hopkins University. Formerly Deputy Assistant Secretary for Water and Science in the U.S. Department of the Interior, Dr. Knopman also has worked for the U.S. Geological Survey. She resides in Washington, D.C.

Priscilla P. Nelson, program director in the Directorate for Engineering at the National Science Foundation, is on leave from the University of Texas at Austin, where she is professor of civil engineering. Dr. Nelson earned her B.S. in geological sciences from the University of Rochester, masters degrees in geology from Indiana University and in structural engineering from the University of Oklahoma, and a Ph.D. in geotechnical engineering from Cornell University. She also has served the National Research Council as a member of the U.S. National Committee for Rock Mechanics, the U.S. National Committee for Tunneling Technology, and the Board on Radioactive Waste Management. Dr. Nelson lives in Virginia.

Alberto A. Sagüés is professor of materials engineering in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of South Florida. A native of Argentina, Dr. Sagüés earned his licentiate (undergraduate degree) in physics from the National University in Rosario. He earned his Ph.D. in Metallurgy from Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio, and has been a U.S. citizen since 1979. Dr. Sagüés has worked with the Argonne National Laboratory near Chicago and with the Juelich Nuclear Research Center in Germany. He is a registered professional engineer and resides in Florida.

The Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board was created by Congress in the Nuclear Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1987. The Board is charged with evaluating the scientific and technical validity of the activities undertaken by the Secretary of Energy to manage and dispose of the nation's commercial spent nuclear fuel and high-level nuclear waste.

For more information on the new Board members or the Board itself, please contact Frank Randall, U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board, 1100 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 910, Arlington, Virginia 22209; (tel) 703-235-4473; (fax) 703-235-4495; (e-mail) info@nwtrb.gov.

################