

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR WASTE TECHNICAL REVIEW BOARD

2300 Clarendon Boulevard, Suite 1300 Arlington, VA 22201

June 16, 2014 For Immediate Release Karyn D. Severson External Affairs

President Obama Announces Intent to Reappoint Five Members to U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board

On June 13, 2014, President Barack Obama announced his intent to reappoint the following members of the U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board to serve four-year terms: Rodney Ewing, Chairman; Sue Clark; Linda Nozick; Kenneth Peddicord; and Paul Turinsky. All are current members of the Board whose terms expired in April 2014; by law, Board members continue to serve until they are reappointed or until their replacements are appointed by the President. Board members serve part time and are appointed by the President from a list of nominees submitted by the National Academy of Sciences. Nominees are selected solely on the basis of their expertise and eminence in technical and scientific disciplines relevant to the Board's review of DOE activities.

The Board was created in the Nuclear Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1987 to perform an ongoing evaluation of the technical and scientific validity of U.S. Department of Energy activities related to implementing the Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1982. The Board is an independent federal agency in the Executive Branch.

The link to the White House announcement is here: http://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2014/06/13/president-obama-announces-more-key-administration-posts.

Board member biographies and additional information on the Board can be found on the Board's website at www.nwtrb.gov.
