

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR WASTE TECHNICAL REVIEW BOARD

2300 Clarendon Boulevard, Suite 1300 Arlington, VA 22201

January 10, 2017 [UPDATED]
For Immediate Release

Karyn D. Severson External Affairs

Changes to the U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board

Chairman of the U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board, Dr. Rodney C. Ewing, has announced his resignation as member and Chairman of the Board, effective January 5, 2017. Dr. Ewing was first appointed to the Board by President Barack Obama on July 28, 2011, and was designated to serve as Chairman by the President on September 25, 2012. In his resignation letter to the President, Dr. Ewing indicated that his decision to resign from the Board was due to "personal and professional obligations."

Current Board member, Dr. Jean Bahr, has been designated by the President to serve as Board Chair, effective January 5, 2017. Dr. Bahr, who is a professor in the Department of Geoscience at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, was appointed to the Board on September 25, 2012. Her resume is available at http://www.nwtrb.gov/board/bahr.html.

On January 6, 2017, the President announced his intent to appoint to the Board Dr. Tissa Illangasekare. Dr. Illangasekare is a Distinguished Endowed Chair of Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Director of the Center for the Experimental Study of Subsurface Environmental Processes at the Colorado School of Mines. The presidential announcement can be found at https://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2017/01/06/president-obama-announces-more-key-administration-posts.

The Nuclear Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1987 charges the Board with conducting an ongoing and independent evaluation of the technical and scientific validity of U.S. Department of Energy activities related to implementing the Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1982. The eleven Board members are appointed by the President from a list of candidates submitted by the National Academy of Sciences. The Board members are experts in their fields and serve part-time.

For information contact Nigel Mote at mote@nwtrb.gov or Karyn Severson at severson@nwtrb.gov. Both can be reached at 703-235-4473.
